Running Woman

IMGP0224 (1280x1035)Now that the extreme heat of summer has abated…and…the freaking lawn has stopped growing like there is no tomorrow…Running Woman is back on the treadmill.  Struggling with the lawnmower through the searing heat of this summer has kept me adequately toned to continue with my walking and running regimen.  I have settled back into a 10 minute warm-up walk followed by 3 minutes running, then back to a 3 minutes of walking followed by 3 minutes running, ending with a 10 minute cool-down walk.  This is a good routine for me that I can build on should I choose.

I have coupled the interval workout with some new meditation tapes that feature a Thich Nhat Hanh retreat.  It is a delightful way to combine a walking meditation with learning and keeping fit.  The exact audio recording is:  “The Ultimate Dimension  An Advanced Dharma Retreat on the Avatamsaka and Lotus Sutras” which I ordered from Sounds True online.

To add to the pleasure of the whole experience I got my treadmill moved out of the basement and onto the deck…how wonderful to gaze over the beauty of the forested landscape rather than a wall.  Endless gratitude to Cole and Mike for the muscle-power!

Leave a Reply

