A Gift

toryOver the weekend Mike dropped off the graphite drawing that I did of Tory, the Australian Shepherd that recently died…her folks were touched and pleased to receive this little gift.  They are still missing her terribly and could not express their thanks enough.  Today they popped by with a huge bouquet of flowers to thank me for the drawing and the sentiments behind it.IMGP8917  I was thrilled and totally unexpecting of such a generous response to my gift to them.  I tried to explain how having the opportunity to get to know Tory was their gift to me already.  I’m not sure if they grasped that.  I thanked them both as much as I could…even our two poodles seemed to sense their raw emotions as they leaned into them very quietly and intently.

The pleasure of giving often helps to release some of the stresses and sadness of loss.  For me, spending time looking deeply into that presence that once was Tory was my way of spending just a bit more time with her…time to say goodbye.

Today’s “stone”  is  Day  64  more snow with rain, rain with snow, soft, muffling

4 thoughts

Leave a Reply

