Gratitude Saturday

“Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow.”

-Melody Beattie-

Gratitude Saturday is a wonderful challenge from Judith that I am delighted to participate in.  Here is my list for today:

  • I am grateful for the way my life has shaped me.  Even though the early years were a series of nightmarish atrocities, the events of my life have not, at long last, resulted in bitterness, fear and self-loathing.  I have come away with a fierce tenacity for living life to the fullest with an ever-present thirst for knowledge, an awareness of hope for the future and compassion for all of mankind.
  • I am grateful that my brother has not forsaken me, despite the repercussions that disclosure wrought.  I know he was devastated to learn that ugly family secret and that the normalcy of our family life was a lie.
  • I am grateful that I was able to let my sister know that I did love her even though we never did get the chance to thoroughly sort out our shared tragic childhood prior to her passing.  The gap between us was too great and she deserved peace and enjoyment of life towards the end rather than rehashing the pain of the past.

Today’s “stone” is Day 349  thank you life, thank you brother, thank you sister

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

