A book that opened my mind

“It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.” 

-e.e.cummings-

The book “Women Who Run With the Wolves” written by Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Ph.D. was a pivotal read that opened my mind to my true being.  The myths and stories of the wild woman archetype resonated within me to the very core.  Yes, reading that book was my “aha” moment.  As each tale of ancient legendary lore revealed a psychological perspective of the human experience I came to a greater comprehension of my own reality.

A powerful instinctual knowledge was able to surface as I read deeper and deeper into this truly visionary book.  I felt right with the world at last.  I felt at home with that wild passionate nature, so fertile, life giving and fierce, which had so long been held at bay, erstwhile shunned by the constraints of stuffy societal mores.  I was able to finally know myself on a deep and soulful level in an accepted and celebrated manner.

This book, filled with myths and stories of the wild woman archetype, is both inspirational and instructive.  I felt empowered to be my true self.  It was as if a door to creativity, a real zest for life and personal strength opened for me.   I passed through it with a new-found confidence, accepting and embracing my inner wild woman, and drawing her to the surface in celebration.

The wolf, at that point, became a powerful icon for me.  It represents the potent psychological force within me which supported, protected and in the end laid the full spectrum of human experience at my feet.  I read this wonderful and insightful book in 1994 at what I believe to have been just the right time in my life’s journey.  In celebration of my emancipation I had tattooed over my heart the image of a wolf within a dream catcher; I will forever be a woman who runs with the wolves.

Today’s “stone” is  Day 230  run with the wolves, run free, not away

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

