Running Woman, gone to the dogs

“Simplicity, simplicity, simplicity! I say, let your affairs be as two or three, and not a hundred or a thousand instead of a million count half a dozen, and keep your accounts on your thumb-nail.”

-Henry David Thoreau-

Running woman has run into the wall of all walls…hot weather and high humidity.  With the temperatures leveling off around 30 degrees C. these past few weeks and the abnormally high humidity sitting around 82% I just cannot bring myself to run.  Even in the cool of the basement room where the treadmill lives it is gaspingly uncomfortable to run…at least for me anyway.  The saving grace that I have going for me is mowing the lawn.  That is a pretty good workout and I cannot ignore the growing grass.  I have myself convinced that I will get back on the running regimen once the weather cools come September.  Meanwhile I am maintaining my tone and stamina with yard work, gardening and good intentions for the fall.  I don’t suppose it counts for much that I am truly enjoying the athleticism of the Olympic games which are handy for viewing and reviewing on TV.

The dog grooming hobby is getting suspiciously like a real job every once in a while too.  There has been a fairly steady flow of appointments which is a good thing on many levels.  I am happy that my clients have shared their contentment with their puppy grooms enough to refer new people my way.  I have not advertised the shop beyond a few posters up at the mail box kiosk and the nearby General Store at the lake.  I never wanted to be “employed” but rather opened my shop as a convenient service to our neighbours.  It has worked out wonderfully well in that way.  The same applies to the dog boarding part…and it is all joy as our “pack” fluctuates in size from week to week.  The nicest part is that we do not feel overwhelmed or pressured to do more and more…retirement rocks.

I feel very fortunate to find myself in this position of contentment.  It was not always so…but…it is now and that is what counts:  the here and now.

Today’s “stone” is Day 220  bogged down by heat, held up by wagging tails, content

Leave a Reply

