All in a day’s work?

“Look at the trees, look at the birds, look at the clouds, look at the stars… and if you have eyes you will be able to see that the whole existence is joyful. Everything is simply happy. Trees are happy for no reason; they are not going to become prime ministers or presidents and they are not going to become rich and they will never have any bank balance. Look at the flowers – for no reason. It is simply unbelievable how happy flowers are.”

-Osho-
The sun is shining bright today, the breeze is gentle and every where around me there is something growing.  The myriad shades of green, the blossoms of pinks, reds, blues and whites dance merrily with each light gust of wind.  There are tiny beginnings of Saskatoon berries in the making all about the yard.

The earth is still damp, quite saturated from numerous days of rain…it gives off the sweet smell of life-giving nutrients.  The garden is a success so far except for the sad and gnarly cucumber plants which are likely to succumb to the cool temperatures of late. With further good weather we should enjoy a bumper crop of strawberries judging by the number of blossoms on the plants.  Add to this idyllic scene the scent of fresh-cut grass, as I have just finished mowing the lawn, and the gleeful chirping of the many birds at the feeder; it feels like paradise.

Isn’t it interesting what a little sunshine can do to lighten our spirits after many days of rain and clouds.  I do make good use of all types of weather.  The really sunny days turn my thoughts to fishing, gardening and yard work…in that order I might add.  The drab days of rain find me up in my loft working on my latest project, though for a while I had to wait for supplies to arrive and I felt stymied.  I like to checkout the blogging sites that I follow and catch up on my own blogs regardless of the weather.  Then of course there are the assortment of boards dogs to tend to and groom dogs as well.  None of this qualifies as ‘work’ exactly; it is all just part of living.

Today’s “stone”  Day 166  all in a day’s living

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

