One of Those Days

“As you simplify your life, the laws of the universe will be simpler; solitude will not be solitude, poverty will not be poverty, nor weakness weakness.”

-Henry David Thoreau – 

I spent the day playing catch up with many different projects.  I gave a bath and brush to Louis, a black lab that arrived one hour late for his appointment.  And that is really what started the whole mixed up feeling for the day.  I always find that when my routine is knocked out of kilter the rest of the day is somewhat confusing.  The end result however is that I did finally managed to complete most of what I had set out to do.  The lawn got mowed, the kennels got cleaned and prepared for tomorrow’s board dogs, the garden got weeded and here I am at last to blog about it all.  Besides tomorrow is soon enough for weed whacking on the hill and painting the little picket fence that Mike made for me to put around the rhubarb and chamomile.

During my gardening today I took these photos to show how every thing is starting to grow.  It has been raining for the past five days for the most part.  It is almost to the point of too much of a good thing.  The rain has helped the seeds to germinate but the cold temperatures are freaking out the cucumbers and beans…they prefer warmer weather.  The plants in the greenhouse are doing very well but tonight it may go down to 1 or 2 degrees celsius so we will have to light the wood stove.  We may even have to cover the garden for fear of frost; I am still thinking that through.

I actually enjoyed the cold wind today as I mowed the lawn; it kept me from overheating and blew any black flies and mosquitoes far away. I had a delightful sighting of a flock of Red Cross-bills  that stopped in at our bird feeding station today.  This is the first time I have seen them here…very cool.  I was not quick enough to get a photo of them but totally enjoyed viewing them through binoculars.

I feel very productive and surprisingly not flustered by the seeming lack of direction that the day seemed to take on.  I guess that I was successfully living in the moment as it unravelled before me.  It is a good feeling to realize that something that at one time would have created upset feelings has just rolled off my back as just one of those day.

Today’s “stone” is Day 158  my day, like water off a duck’s back, at peace

7 thoughts

  1. our gardens are looking good eldy … i cant imagine summer with such low temperatures! i really struggle with having my routine upset, sometimes it is easier to let go, but others i hang onto my expectations and feel adrift…

    • Our weather is so very different than yours. The temperatures seem to jump from one end to the next on a whim. We do get some August days of 30 degrees celsius…sometimes.

Leave a Reply

