Share Your World

“Share Your World” is a way to get to know each other that Cee has going on her blog. She posts weekly questions for all who wish to participate. This week’s questions and my responses are:
  1. What’s my favorite holiday and why?   Celebrating holidays is a ritual the we have continued with on a small “make a special dinner” scale even though it is just the two of us out here.  However, I have commented often that what we have right now, in retirement living in our little cabin in the woods, feels like the best vacation ever.  And it’s still feels that way after 4 years.
  2. Do you prefer your food separated or mixed together?    Ah food.  I am not big on food neither the preparing nor the variety available or for that matter how it is presented.  I’ll eat what there is, mixed, separate or just one simple thing, no matter.  For the most part I have considered eating to be an annoying necessity that gets in the way of doing other things.
  3. Before making a phone call, do you ever rehearse what you are going to say?  I’ve had jobs in my life that required both answering and making phone calls.  After the first few times I got used to it.  It often did feel awkward  to start out though.  The worst was back when answering machine first came into the picture.  I think I left some of the daffiest messages at times for lack of rehearsal.
  4. When you are with your friends. Do your interactions include much touching—for example, hugging, kissing, rough housing, rubbing backs?   Would you like to have more of this?   I have learned over time to go so far as a hug of greeting and then a goodby hug to friends that I know well.  Other than that the hugs and touching thing is exclusive for my husband, children and grands.  I get a little creeped out by people who are overly touchy which is way better than the totally freaked out “I really want to slug back” feeling that I used to experience years ago.  I’ve come a long way…do I want more?  No not really.

Today’s “stone” is Day 148  holiday celebrations, food, phones, touchy feely.

9 thoughts

  1. One of the most endearing things about thos group of SYW people is that we are all works in progress. I think there is something beautiful and simplistic in that.

    Eldy love your statement about retired living and your canin in the woods. Though mine is not in the woods per se, I do consider it our little cabin after last year letting go of the two level home. Huge Smiles!
    We are digging this lifestyle so very much. If I want to make a mess creating hand made cards in the living room than so be it. The luxury of people NOT just dropping by.

    Love you sharing your thoughts and responses. Funny thing about food, I vascilate between digging food in all aspects, then not so much. I am one of those not so much phases

    • It is a joy to get to know you and all the others of the Share Your World group through these sets of questions and answers. Thank you for sharing too.

  2. I loved your answer on food/eating. It does seem like a waste of time. And I am lousy at cooking and preparing it. I so enjoy reading your answers every week. Thanks so much for being a participant in my little project. I just get so tickled when people respond!!!!!

Leave a Reply

