Biointensive Garden: planted

“He is happiest who finds peace in his home.”

-Goethe- 

My new raised bed biointensive garden is planted at last.  I have been eagerly awaiting the May long weekend as the traditional “safe from frost” time.  We could of course still have frost seeing as we live in the northern part of BC but it is not as likely.  The way the beds are made it would be easy to put stakes in at the four corners and cover the plants overnight if the forecast shows minus temperatures.

Right now the weather is just right for freshly planted seeds and seedlings.  It is cloudy and raining lightly…a good start.  The next couple of days are for some sun and cloud…perfect.

We’ve got zucchini, asparagus, beans, cucumbers, potatoes, carrots, beets, onions, lettuce, peas, radishes and turnips all in the raised beds.   I can hardly wait for them to grow!  But right now I am exhausted from all that fresh air.

The greenhouse tomato plants got planted last week and we have been burning the wood stove in there overnight to keep the chill off.  All is well on the gardening front.

I even got the window boxes planted with flowers.  The leaves on the trees are sprouted out fully and a bright cheery green…now it really does look like spring in the Cariboo.

I made a start on revamping my circular flower bed.  It is 40 feet in circumference and it took me an entire week to dig out the ingrown grass and weeds.  The lupines and irises were the only plants that I saved from my former delightful wild flower garden.  Right now it is just a gaping scar in the lawn but maybe in another week I’ll have a Shasta daisy bed in place that will withstand the encroaching weeds and grasses.

Today’s “stone” is Day 142  rocks and more rocks, soon some daisies, grow babies grow

7 thoughts

  1. oh Eldy, now my fingers itch for spring … although our winter garden is full of food, the thrill of planting the summer crop is so wonderful … your beds are brilliant …. we are now using four wicking beds as well which produce some excellent crops, good us water-short people here in Australia

    • I think once the foliage is thick there should not be so much loss of water to evaporation. The book ,The Sustainable Vegetable Garden, that I patterned this garden on says so and I am willing to believe.

  2. Pingback: Launch a revolution in your backyard with a micro eco-farm | The GOLDEN RULE

Leave a Reply

