Running Woman

“We don’t know who we are until we see what we can do.”

 -Martha Grimes-

Keep in mind that this interval session and all of the others are sandwiched in between 2 to 5 minutes of walking to warm up and cool down the leg muscles.  For these longer sets I walk 5 minutes before and 5 minutes after.

 

This week’s interval program is:

4 minutes running

2.5 minutes walking

4 minutes running

Not repeated

 

Well I guess not repeated!!  I didn’t think that my legs had 4 minutes of running in them.  What a pleasant surprise!  The first 4 minutes of running was strenuous, but, did not make my calves burn.  They just felt used and I was puffing somewhat.  For the second 4 minutes I got my breathing under control and I think concentrating on that is what got me through.  My calves did start to burn near the end of the 3 minute point and from there on it was sheer determination that pushed me to complete the set.  It took a full 5 minutes of walking to walk off the burn then I did a very slow walk for another 2 minutes to be sure my muscles were well cooled.

I am delighted to still be hanging in there.  I like that it only takes 20 to 25 minutes to do this interval training.  I am not a super busy person but there really is only so much time to use up concentrating on deliberate exercise.  There are dogs to groom, kennels to clean, yard work, gardens to grow and this…blogging to do.  I won’t even include the house work and laundry because that waits forever if need be.  Exercise for the sake of exercise has never been a priority before…but now it is and I think I like it…just a tiny bit. 😉

Today’s “stone” is Day  116    the “20 minute mile”, not history, not a record, but wow for me

Leave a Reply

