Share Your World on Earth Day

Today is a special edition of Share Your World because today is EARTH DAY and we all share the Earth  all the time.  What better way to celebrate than to share our ways of celebrating this very important day.  As more and more people globally take note of the environmental needs of our wonderous planet…get out there and by all means if all you can manage is to “hug a tree” then go for it!!!  Have you checked out this page for amazing Nature blogs right here on WordPress as blogged by Erica (the notice was at the bottom of our screens and I sometimes forget to look there).

As for me, this day is the most excellent time for a trek through the forest with my camera and lots of enthusiasm.  I am thrilled to get out for a good long trek now that the icy patches are gone.   I was going to hop on my bicycle for a jaunt over to the beach to check on the lake but it is on the brink of rain.   Enjoy your Earth Day!  In any case I must wait until some people come to pick a  dog from boarding first.  She is all bathed and ready to go…just waiting.  Then I’ll get out into the forest rain or not.

As many of you know “Share Your World” is a way to get to know each other that Cee has going on her blog. She posts weekly questions for all who wish to participate. This week’s questions and my responses are:

  • How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are? This is an  interesting question.  I feel younger than 61.   When I look back chronologically my mind seems to settle at about 50 because that was when I felt most physically strong, as well as emotionally and mentally vibrant.  I feel very young but not quite naive.  I still have that youthful sense of awe at the earth and its many wonders and the same desire to learn more about life.  I think I have gotten younger in that sense from the point of disclosure regarding the childhood abuse I experienced.  I was old inside from age 8 to age 45 then got a chance to experience life through fresher eyes.  That makes me about 16.
  • What is the kindest thing anyone has done for you?  Way back when my kids were pre-school I worked 2 part-time jobs.  The mother of the young girl I had babysitting for me surprised us with a wonderful act of kindness on Christmas eve.  While I was at work she came over and prepared a complete Christmas dinner for us.  I walked into my home, filled with the aromas of turkey dinner with all the trimmings plus gifts for each of the kids…all of which would never have been possible to manage.  It was such an amazingly kind thing to do.  Then they just bowed out and left us to enjoy.
  • What was your favorite childhood television program?  Bonanza was a much enjoyed and anticipated TV program that I looked forward to every week.
  • Which cooking utensil (other than the usual pots and pans etc) would you miss the most?  Can I say my husband 🙂 hehehe?  Not really.  I would miss the microwave oven the most.  For the 6 years while I live in the loft apartment all I had  for cooking was a microwave, crock pot, rice cooker and kettle but the microwave was used the most.

Today’s “stone”  is Day 113  young and alive, eyes wide, heart open

12 thoughts

  1. I can relate to you on age and being old very young. In a lot of ways I am younger now than way back then, but much more knowledgeable and free. Great answers. I always love reading your answers! The wave is another thing I wouldn’t want to give up. And if your husband does the cooking, I think he would count!!

  2. I wish I could say your husband certainly counts so I’m so glad Cee agrees. Of course he does!
    What tender kindnesses were given to you and your babaies. You brought back a memory of my own where one year as a child my little brother and I would not had a Christmas with our newly seperated mom had it not been for the kindness of Salvation Army and all that donated. Thanks for the gentle reminder Eldy~

Leave a Reply

