On Finding Contentment

“If you surrender to the wind, you can ride it.”

-Toni Morrison-

I have reached a degree of contentment in my life that is not based on my material possessions.  Rather, I am content with me, with what I choose to do on a daily basis, and with whom I choose to include in my life.  I have accepted that the inner me and the outer me do not always function in sync.  I have accepted the reality of my life, how it has molded me into the person that I am.  It is not that I am perfect, wow, not by any means…not even close.  It is a place of introspective reality that allows me to accept myself…quirks and all.  I am aware of the pain of the inner child, the angst of the protective inner warrior, the sensitivity of the true self that is seeking to be whole and all of the other relevant therapeutic suppositions.  Yes, I could still push to change for the better but I am content to be “me” right now.  I am still seeking to be physically healthier and stronger and that in and of itself will enhance my contentment.  I choose to look outward to lend support to those outside of myself.  From this personal place of contentment I am freed to look more objectively at those around me.  I encourage all who find themselves seeking happiness to first accept and be content with your “self”, pat yourself on the back for having made it this far, forgive yourself for past errors; I consciously told myself years ago  ” it is time to stop beating myself up”.   Enjoy first this exact moment of contentment; living in the moment is freeing.

From a material standpoint, consider what you currently have.  I do not need more.  With what I have about me I can continue to live contented.  I have shelter, I have food, I have clean air to breathe, and I feel safe…nothing else is necessary really.  Making improvements to our living conditions that will facilitate living unassisted through our senior years, if we can, is the only additional material need perhaps.  I have the self-discipline to refrain from habits which are harmful.  I appreciate the benefits that our life here in Canada affords us and so many others.

On a social level, I feel that it is important to not hold other’s ideas of being sociable as the be all and end all.  Some people do well with a throng of friends and acquaintances others find comfort in close relationships with a select few.  I maintain great respect for the feelings and well-being of others.  I truly do seek to do no harm and with that mindset I am content.  I have my share of ups and downs, personal sorrows and feelings of inadequacy, you name it; that’s what life is all about.  One of the most important things that I have ever learned is that we are all in this together, we all have innumerable feelings some of which hurt, we all face the same general life choices and some indeed have way more strife than others.  We are none of us alone.  We are all interconnected to humanity, to each other.

Today’s “stone” is  Day 94  I am, me, content, whole enough

4 thoughts

  1. a thought provoking piece eldy, living the best life possible, finding contentment with things as they are, a wonderful way to be with no striving, just a peaceful recognition of “whole enough” … your words are so inspiring in a deep quiet way, you really pass on the peace of your contentment so beautifully 🙂

Leave a Reply

