Spring in the Forest

“To me a lush carpet of pine needles or spongy grass is more welcome than the most luxurious Persian rug.”

-Helen Keller-

My walk through the forest today revealed the final crusty vestiges of winter and the arrival of spring burgeoning all around.  The sounds of returning birds filled the air.  I caught a glimpse of my first Robin of the season; there have been Varied Thrushes about for weeks already.  A flock of Purple Finches set up a clamorous chorus above me from their perch high in a still leafless Aspen.  And, those cheeky squirrels that remained half hidden and quiet through the winter months were bounding madly from tree to tree, scolding me terribly.  In the distance I caught the cry of Bald Eagles calling to each other from the treetops.  We had a nesting pair the year before last; perhaps it is time to nest again.

The forest floor was a myriad of colors with the rustiness of last fall’s rotting leaves and the bright greens of various mosses and lichens.  The grassy expanses barely show a hint of green amongst the brittle yellow blades.  The twiggy branches of both trees and shrubs are now bursting with new buds; the leaves are on their way.  The freshness of the breeze was tempered with pungent leaf rot and musty winter snow mould.  How I love to witness the changing of the season from winter’s icy grip into Mother Nature’s warm spring embrace.  The moisture from the newly melted snow has given the forest floor a delightful sponginess coupled with a capricious slickness underfoot.  My foot shot out from under me and sent me on a sudden scoot downward several yards.  No harm done, the springy surface cushioned my fall and I was quick to recover my stance, not lingering long enough to get wet.  What a joy the woodlot behind our home offers every day.  I would not trade it for the world.

Today’s “stone” is  Day 93  chirping, fresh, green on grey, beauty to behold

4 thoughts

Leave a Reply

