Save Canada’s Environmental Laws

“There is a pleasure in the pathless woods,
There is a rapture on the lonely shore,
There is society, where none intrudes,
By the deep sea, and music in its roar:
I love not man the less, but Nature more.”
-George Gordon, Lord Byron-

I have read a review of the recent Budget being tabled by the federal government on the  Ecojustice  website .  Spurred on by the inherent environmental problems that changes may bring, I signed this petition through the EnviroLaws Matter website.

Stop the rollback of Canada’s Environmental Laws

Dear Prime Minister Harper,

My Canada includes majestic rivers rich with fish. My Canada includes endless coastlines and pure water teaming with life.

My Canada includes the salmon, the trout, the grizzly, the caribou and the loon.

My Canada includes a sustainable and stable economy.

My Canada is a democracy where all voices are respected and heard.

Stop the plan to roll back Canada’s environmental laws.

While the Budget has some good points it slides quickly into very grey areas which will weaken the environmental assessment process and in some cases allow smaller but just as damaging projects to avoid assessment entirely.  This is not a wise way to manage our natural resources and provide for the well-being of natural habitats, animals and humankind.

Everyone who cares about the Mother Earth and how generations to come will survive can go to these two websites, gain some insight and sign the petition too.

Today’s “stone” is Day 90  care for what we share, Mother Earth, life itself

2 thoughts

  1. One of the most beautiful things on my first visit to Canada is that there is no signs of clear cut timber anywhere in view. I was challened to try to find a sign of it and could not the weeks I’ve been there. What a way to honor your forest’s!
    I was reminded of this again a week ago as a friend and I were traveling back Oregon roads together. In plain sight there are acres and acres of dorest lands that has been left scarred by the raping of it’s life forces, timber. It’s an embarrassment that the USA has learned nothing in the last 40 years.

    • The clear cut scars are still here but not so obvious I guess. So far we have environmental laws to keep it that way…it has definitely helped.

Leave a Reply

