Running Woman

“You’ve got a lot of choices. If getting out of bed in the morning is a chore and you’re not smiling on a regular basis, try another choice.”

-Steven D. Woodhull-

Well, I have finally found my “tomorrow” which was in fact yesterday.  I have been putting off the start of my new and improved exercise regimen long enough.  I unearthed the treadmill out from under the dust, odds, ends and collectables at last.  I began with the recommended 2 minutes of walking to warm up though I did forget to stretch first.  I am not the best at following directions it would seem.  However, I did remember that, for me, it is important to cut the training program in half.  Reasoning:  I am out of shape, 61 years old, and will quit the next day if I’m stiff and sore.  The training program reminds me of a book I read long decades ago on interval training.  In any case the source can be tracked down here.  The following is the cut in half version.

Day one:

  • 2 minutes of warm up walking
  • 30 seconds of running followed by 45 seconds of walking repeated 8 times.
  •  2 minutes of cool down walking.

It was that easy…totally over and done with in about 15 minutes.  I felt like I could have walked longer but stuck to my plan.  As it turns out the treadmill is a good place to start this program.  By holding the side rails I could greatly lessen the impact during the running segments.  I feel like I have accomplished something in that little stint, just by overcoming inertia.  So here it is the next day and I did not over stress or strain any thing; I do not feel stiff or sore.  The program is for 3 days per week so there are 1 and 2 days off between sessions for recovery.  I should be able to stick with this one even as it changes to increase the duration of intervals.

Boosting activity levels, and at the same time boosting mental acuity and my over sense of well-being is the goal.  I continue to enjoy my treks through the woods and about the property with my dogs.  Those times are filled with musings and meditations, long pauses and the ever present treasure hunt to clean the yard of doo-doo.  The heart rate seldom goes up and the strength though kept to a certain degree of toning does not improve beyond.

Today’s “stone” is Day 89   running woman, running wild, running with scizzors, running amok, running at a mad shuffle

6 thoughts

  1. Great decision to start running as a means to get in better shape. This program is fantastic. I followed it when I started running and now I can’t imagine life without running. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

