A Gifting Day in the Shop

“The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away.”

-Author Unknown-

Today was a day of gifting in my grooming shop.  We had a couple my regular grooming dogs for a one night board…with the client’s request that just one was to have a bath.  This presented me with the opportunity to gift away a free bath for the other dog.  When dogs come to board, even if it is just one night I always trim their nails anyway…every one gets a free nail trim in my shop.  It was a pleasant surprise for the client when she came to pick them up to discover that both were clean, nails trimmed and feet and face tidied.  It was kind of funny…she was apologizing for not having “a tip” for me which she felt I deserved due to several arrival and pick up time changes…when she noticed that I had groomed them both.  “Did you do them both?”…I just grinned.

There was also another dog that had been with us for 5 days that was due to go home the same day.  She hung out in the shop with the others while I was bathing, drying and tidying…so I thought I should give her a freebie too.  I love to see the look on people’s faces when I tell them that they got a free bath for their little loves.  Some are thrilled, some just take it in stride but still are pleased; either way I like to make it a point of doing this randomly.  A gift of my time and my enjoyment for the process of caring for their pets is also a gift for me.  It feels delightfully good to surprise some one with a gift for no reason.

Of course there are dogs that I do not know on a “grooming” level that come in for boarding; those I would not randomly bathe just incase they have sensitive skin that I have not been told of.  I do, in fact have 2 dogs that have very sensitive skin that also board here from time to time.  Those are unfortunately not candidates for free baths but definitely get free nail trims.

Today’s “stone” is Day 82  the pleasure of a dog’s company, a gift

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

