Deep Snow and Vistas

“Man’s heart away from nature becomes hard.”

-Standing Bear-

On the return trip from ice fishing I was able to take a few photos.  The trail goes along an old closed logging road up the mountain through the back country.  It passes through lovely old growth intact forested areas as well as a section which has be logged out.  There is a stark contrast between the two, even under the deep blanket of snow, which leaves me each time we pass through with a feeling of loss and sadness.  The rich untouched forest is thick and rife with life as evidenced by the many animal tracks crisscrossing the trail.  We have seen moose twice so far in fact.  The logged out area is at best barren with the stumps and rejected fall jutting from under the snow as memorials to what once was.  The snow was very deep off the trail…past my knees; I tried but tipped over onto my back to save the camera…got some different perspective while I waited for Mike to help me up.  Made a snow angel while I was at it…sans wings as I had to keep the camera safe.

logged out area

seeing for miles

back country trail

view from here

great new perspective

snow angel

vista from the trail

a peek into the forest

Today’s “stone” is  Day 60  cold blue light, forest sentinels, wonderful world

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

