Love is

“In the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures. For in the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed.”
-Khalil Gibran-
 

Life in Northern British Columbia has a different feel to it…it is natural, wild and best taken in great spurts of spontaneity. Therefore in the spirit of Valentine’s Day our celebration of love took on a slightly different form.  This year my Valentine’s Day request was a snowy BBQ-style picnic on the lake.  We drove out on our snowmobile, our fleet-footed dogs galloping along beside, to enjoy a morning of fishing.  The goal, of course, was to catch at least one fish to BBQ for lunch.  What a perfect day, sun-shiny bright and just sitting at freezing temperature which made it toasty warm in the tent.  By 11:30 am we had caught our lunch and then some; Mike cleaned the fish and fired up the BBQ.  There was only a slight breeze so sitting in the sun we enjoyed the solitude of the lake and each other’s company.  With a toast to life and love we both acknowledged how very fortunate we are to have such a wonderful natural resource to draw from.  I do not miss city life…at all…but were I to move from here, this I would most definitely miss.  I want to breathe it into my very inner being…to always be a part of this wonderful wilderness.  I believe that if the people in positions of power were to have a truly loving experience with the wilderness areas of the world; if all people had the opportunity to feel wrapped in the arms of nature and unfettered by the stresses of urban lifestyles, their choices to develop and destroy natural habitats in the name of economic growth would not be the same.  It is a day such as this that renews my motivation to live with as much care and consideration for the natural world as I can manage.  To all I wish a wonderful and loving Valentine’s Day.

Today’s “stone” is  Day 45  love life, love nature, love yourself, love others, unconditionally

3 thoughts

  1. (Sigh.) I lived in Alaska for three years. My soul has never been as happy. I keep trying to figure out how to get back. With Matt’s job it’s impossible right now, but not forever. I feel the same way. I didn’t miss a thing while I was up there from the city life. But now that I’m here, Alaska is all I think about.
    Your uplifting meditations when you share about your life take me right back there, if only for a minute. (Though I realize you aren’t in AK, but it sounds so similar!) Enjoy for us all!

Leave a Reply

