My wish for all humanity

“Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop off like autumn leaves.”

 -John Muir-

Today a crisp chill breeze blew through my hair; the rhythmic chirp of chickadees and nuthatches filled my ears, the thrum of a pileated woodpecker sounded through the forest as seven dogs danced about my feet.  The mood for my daily trek about the property was set with high excitement on the part of my seven snorting and sniffing companions.  It reminded me of my days on the horse breeding farm.  The split second the crisp cold air hit the horse’s lungs on a winter morning turnout, especially after a fresh snowfall, the excitement in the air was tangible.  The exhilaration ran like an electric shock down the lead shank from the horse’s head as ears pricked up, nostrils flared and feet began a high-stepping prance.  I loved the feeling of those early mornings, just past dawn when a blue aura hung in the icy air.  Today as I watched the dogs cavort and gamble about eager to flush out something…anything…I could not help but feel gratitude for the quality of air, clean and refreshing, that chilled my cheeks and tickled my nose.  The air here has a hint of pine…unpolluted.  I felt so very fortunate to be able to experience breathing as a joyful intake of wholesome air.  The natural freshness of the alpine air, the sounds of nature humming and dogs bounding joyfully through the snow are a blessing…no… the blessing of being alive right here and now.  What a wonderful world indeed.  As I paused there amid my pack, just breathing in long refreshing draughts of northern freshness, I felt carefree and most definitely loving life.  My wish for all humanity, if only I could wrap it up as a gift:  clean air, inner peace, an affinity for all creatures and the incredible treasure of connection with the earth.

Today’s “stone” is  Day 31 overjoyed, alive, wet noses, warm hearts, a gift

Leave a Reply

