Global Warming Doubters?

“Anyone who proposes to do good must not expect people to roll stones out of his way, but must accept his lot calmly, even if they roll a few stones upon it.”
-Albert Schweitzer-

Surprisingly often I come across people who still do not take the condition of the environment and global warming as seriously as I do.  There are in fact some who still think that it is some dark plot to ruin the Canadian economy to suggest that the world is not an infinite source of natural resources.  I am not a scientist nor am I in any way trained to speak with authority on any environmental issues.  I do, however, read papers and books written by reputable experts such as David Suzuki and his colleagues.  I have confidence in their knowledge base and their ethical examination of scientific data.  Sharing my concerns comes from the heart but at the same time it is based on what I consider to be a reliable source.  To folks who consider the possibility of global warming, its potentially disastrous consequences and the role that the destruction of habitats and biodiversity of natural areas by human development to be science fiction my response is:  read, research, learn and consider the future generations.  True…we cannot live forever, we cannot take “it” with us, but this does not have to translate into we cannot do anything about it.  We can definitely do something about it.  We can care about it to start with and from that point onward make environmentally ethical choices and share our concerns about the environment with others.  I check in on the David Suzuki Foundation website on a daily basis and when there are petitions to be signed I get on board right away.  Then I let the people I know all about it and give them the opportunity to do the same.  When there are issues that deserve extra attention and if I know where to email I send letters expressing my concern on an individual level.  Am I making a difference?  I am not 100% sure but even a maybe makes it worth the effort.  Even if one other person gets inspired enough to think about the environment and how they treat it makes it worth the effort.

Today’s “stone” is: Day 5   Sad eyes, tension, startled, tension released, calm, hum, good puppy

2 thoughts

  1. I’m very sorry to say that the people you mentioned above, convinced that this is some anti-Canadian treehuggers movement, are joined by those in the U.S. who feel the same way. Worst of all are those who acknowledge global warming, but refuse to see a human component to the problem, and claim that this is natural, part of the earth’s cycle. I can’t quite accept the idea that pouring tons of greenhouse gases from our factories and cars is part of a natural cycle!

    • You got that right, Judith. It is all interconnected, one action results in another reaction and so on down the line. That is the only part of global warming that is natural. Spewing tons of pollutants into the atmosphere and oceans and destroying acre upon acre of natural habitats for monetary gain is an external un-natural force of human invention.

Leave a Reply

