A peaceful mountaintop celebration

“When we truly care for ourselves, it becomes possible to care far more profoundly about other people.  The more alert and sensitive we are to our own needs, the more loving and generous we can be toward others.”

-Eda LeShan-

Today we rose very early to go ice fishing with our usual group to a lake which is about 10 minutes away.  We all met up at the bottom of the mountain road which passes through a First Nations reservation at 7:30 am.  We have permission from the band chief to travel through; the lake itself is not on the reservation and is stocked by the government but getting travelling permission is a courtesy that makes for good relations I think.  The walk out to the best fishing area is a good 20 minute hike across the ice which served nicely as my walking meditation of the day.  The crunch of boots on the snow and the rumbling of the sleds were a rhythmic back drop for the gratitude I carried with me, each step a celebration, breathing in and out, the beauty of nature a flowing part of me.  Our dogs joined us this time and romped enthusiastically during trek and set-up.  While we fish they join us in our tent to chomp on raw bones and stay cozy; the mountaintop lake is remote and there is much wildlife about the place.  Often we can hear the howl of wolves at dawn; moose and deer abound.

Today I made a few revisions to the letter that I am to email to Save-On Foods.   We recently purchased more reusable cloth bags and I noticed how much more sturdy these are now.  So I added a thank you for that improvement to the letter as well.  I will archive my various environmental concern letters on a separate page.  Please feel welcome to peruse them and use bits and pieces or all if you want to join in communicating your concern to the powers that be in your area.   So far I have received only specific response to my correspondence.  Christy Clark, the premier of British Columbia, replied with some assurances and websites for me to look up what her party is doing for the environment.  That will be posted on the archive page too.  The email that I sent to the Prime Minister was acknowledged as being redirected to the Minister of the Environment.  I’ll be sending them more letters though.

One thought

Leave a Reply

