Mindfulness

“The future of all life, including our own, depends on our mindful steps. We have to hear the bells of mindfulness that are sounding all across our planet. We have to start learning how to live in a way that a future will be possible for our children and our grandchildren.”

-Thich Nhat Hanh-

Several months ago I became aware of the term “mindful“ through a website called Mindful Drawing (very talented artist by the way).  I cannot recall having heard the word before and, as some words do, it followed me around for quite some time.  Since then it has seemingly come up all over the place.  Or perhaps, more likely, I have been drawn to reading material that is filled with the concept of mindfulness.   I am currently reading  a book written by Thich  Nhat Hanh…The World We have.  It is a book which embraces the interconnectedness of all things, the environment, healthy living, meditation and the mindfulness that is an integral part of Buddhism.  And there you have it…that wonderful word “mindful”.  I love the sound of the word, the meaning and the feeling of the word and there is a reason for that.  It resonates through my life choice of living in the moment.  I am not a Buddhist, however, I find myself very at home with many of the precepts of the Buddhist  teachings.  Living in harmony with all in our environment, which includes all of humanity, is the message that I am coming away with from this interesting  book.  As described in the book it is a message to the world enveloped in the actions of living a mindful life.  The message has rekindled the hope that I have for world peace, harmony between man and nature, and a sustainable future for all of mankind.  I purchased this book as a e-book, which I think is an environmentally friendly action in itself…at least I hope it is.  This book has deepened my sense of the value of mindfulness with each chapter that I read.

One thought

  1. Practicing mindfulness was more than once my only vehicle out of deep depression. Now, I try specifically be mindful for 15 minutes or more every day, and I strive to keep it in my heart all the time! Thanks for your lovely post!

Leave a Reply

