Simply be yourself

“When you are content to be simply yourself and don’t compare or compete, everybody will respect you.”
-Lao Tzu-

So often in my life I have made the statement that I am not a competitive person.  Over the years as I have come to know myself better; I have come to recognize that a more accurate statement is… I do not want to be a competitive person that compares my efforts or achievements with others.  Vying for superiority does not feel good, it creates anxiety; it feels like I do not respect myself.  Encouraging others to enjoy their chosen direction and encouraging myself to enjoy my own chosen direction feels right.  The graph of personal progress need only contain one simple measure; it is whether I am on my chosen path.  It is not necessary to do more, be faster, be bigger or better in order to be myself.  Far better it is to experience life in a way that does no harm and feels right for me.  When I immerse myself into something that I feel passionate about, valuable personal growth and skills seem to occur naturally through the experience itself.  Do I have to remind myself of this?  Oh yes…and I do.  Be yourself, respect yourself, respect others and it will come back to you; others will respect you.

2 thoughts

  1. I don’t like being competitive either. I fight it all the time. I don’t know if it’s the culture or the technology age that encourages it. Staying on the chosen path sounds like a much better plan. Sometimes, I wish I wore blinders like a horse to keep myself on the path! 🙂

Leave a Reply

