Ice Fishing Season has arrived!

You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment.
-Henry David Thoreau-

Yesterday’s post was lost to living in the present…to be exact in the six hours that it takes to bathe, dry and groom two standard poodles,and the aftermath which is exhaustion.  I am a dog groomer and they are my own dogs but it eats up a whole day.  Staying in the moment does help a great deal with the process; otherwise it would seem a daunting job right from the start.  I have always been the sort of person that when faced with a large project I sink myself into the doing of the deed and do not even give a thought to how much more needs to be done yet.  If I find myself feeling tired, I look at how much I have completed and how great it looks and feel motivated.  Then I go back to concentrating on the job at hand. I find it to be a very effective way to make mundane chores enjoyable.  That was yesterday. Today we launched ourselves at 4:45 am out to the ice-covered lake for this winter season’s first ice fishing expedition.  The drive to this particular lake takes about an hour and forty-five minutes; the plan is always to be on the ice and ready to drop a line just before daybreak.  Living in the present was very much required as the road was winding, rough, snowy and wash board rutted for the entire last 12 K.  I love the snowy beauty of the forest and watch eagerly for wildlife.  There was a moose alongside the road on  our way today…very cool.  The wind was gusting brutally across the lake, which made anchoring the tent an immediate necessity.  Once inside the -10 degrees Celsius was soon forgotten.  I pulled my first fish out while it was still too dark to see…first of the six of us fishing…yay me.  There really is nothing like the quiet of a winter lake, each person staring intently down their individual fishing hole. The fish living in this lake are Brook Trout…very delicious and fun to catch.  The water at the edge of the weeds is about only 10 feet deep so it is easy to see the fish swimming up to the bait when inside the dark ice fishing tent.  It is an interesting challenge to wait for just the right moment when the Brookies take the bait, give the line a quick jerk to set the hook and steadily pull the fish up through the hole.  Excitement and too much enthusiasm can cause the fish to get away and off down through the hole again amid moans, some cursing and gales of laughter.  No regrets…there will be another one along soon.  At no point in time did I give thought or energy to anything other than fishing for Brook Trout.  It is as refreshing to the mind as a sitting meditation…sitting on a bucket, in the quiet dark of a tent on an icy lake in the wilderness, just staring down a hole in the ice, followed by a burst of excitement then back to it again.

One thought

  1. Such a lovely, descriptive post. I don’t fish on the ice, but I remember fishing for Brookies in tiny streams in Pike’s Peak National Park. Nothing better than to have them in the frying pan within ten minutes of hooking them. Fresh! Thanks for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

