Live the life you have imagined-Henry David Thoreau

“I learned this, at least, by my experiment: that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.”

―Henry David Thoreau, Walden:Or Life in the Woods

Walden…fascinating reading for those who enjoy the woods and the idea of living a natural “back to the land” sort of life style.  It also serves as a reminder that we all can indeed do that which we set our minds to.  If you think you can; you are half way there.  Living the life you have imagined becomes a reality when the dream becomes a deep enduring commitment to make it so.  I have carried in my mind the vision of living in a forested wilderness for decades.  The dream was alive through decades of city living, raising children, and working at uninspiring  retail jobs.  When at last I reinvented myself in the natural world, working on a thoroughbred horse farm at the age of 50 I was finally more than half way there.  I came to recognize in myself that I had the where-with-all to make the dream a reality.  Six years of getting yanked all over the place by wing-nut mares and unruly stallions developed my confidence, strength and a boldness I had not previously known.  Determination, energy and courage were growing from the deeply held belief that I could do whatever I chose to and have the life I imagined.  It is a feeling that wells up from deep inside and drives a person first through the thought process and then into action toward achieving one’s goal.  No longer was I satisfied with the status quo, when the horse farm job ceased to provide inspiration and impetus toward my goal…I, with a newly developed confidence recognized the need for change and made the move toward it.  I dipped deep within to discover what else I could feel passionate about, learn to do and develop skills to take with me toward my goal.  I set a five-year plan into motion, certified as a dog groomer and developed practical grooming and dog handling skills.  Within three years the dream became a reality.  Here I am with a wooded wilderness in my backyard and a dog grooming shop in my front yard which I operate as a hobby which pays for itself.  I have arrived at the original dream and in my art work creativity and inspiration are leading me to develop a new dream.  A dream can indeed be lived.   Set a goal, make it your dream…hold to it…strive towards it…turn thought into action…live your dream.

Leave a Reply

