Do not brood over your past mistakes…

Do not brood over your past mistakes and failures as this will only fill your mind with grief, regret and
depression. Do not repeat them in the future.

-Sivananda

Each of us has days when these wise words are needed to remind us to stop beating ourselves up.  I have picked myself up time and again over my many years of living.  I have dusted myself off and gone on at times even reinventing myself with the new found wisdom that for a time manifested itself as strife of various sorts.  I have resolutely vowed that I have no regrets but rather have learned valuable life lessons.  I have most definitely learned what not to repeat through trial and error.  Haven’t we all?  I know the drill. Oddly enough there seems to be more mistakes on the horizon.  I chalked up a big mistake yesterday.  Today, as I watch my little Rexy dog with his front leg skewed to the side, immobilized by pain, I truly do regret taking him outside while the three Goldens were here. What was I thinking?  The two females attacked him within seconds and would have ripped him in two had I not snatched him away.  He is injured and I am sad.  To shake it off is most definitely in my best interest.  To move forward and not repeat the same mistake is the right and prudent thing to do. To look forward to him feeling better is the positive way to look at it. My intellect is aware of the process, but, my feelings of sadness when I look at him swell me up with regret anew. Tomorrow will be a better day.  Life on the whole is a huge learning process well worth the somewhat bumpy ride.

2 thoughts

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: regret « Eldy's Photo Blog

Leave a Reply

